Yazoo County

US States / M / Mississippi / Yazoo County

Yazoo County is named for the Yazoo Native American word meaning “river of death”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Humphreys County and Holmes County

E – Madison County

S – Hinds County and Warren County

W – Issaquena County and Sharkey County


Created:  January 21, 1823                                                        Map of Mississippi highlighting Yazoo County

County Seat: 

Beatties Bluff  1823 – 1836

Benton            1836 – 1848

Yazoo City      1848 – present


County Courthouse – Yazoo City


Location:  211 East Broadway / North Washington Street

Built:  1871 – 1872

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Charles M Oates

Contractor:  Valentine Warner


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story white colored stuccoed-brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Yazoo City. The south front has a portico with four columns rising from the second story to a pediment at the roof line. On the first story is the recessed entrance with large arched window on the second story. Similar windows are on either side of the portico. On the center of the roof is an octagonal cupola with red colored dome. The roof is hipped. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 21st Judicial District, County Chancery Court, County Youth Court and County Justice Court. The building was renovated in 1931. The architect was Claude H Lindsley and the contractor was Currie & Corley. On the north side is a modern addition. The building was renovated in 1992. 


See:  The 21st Judicial District includes Holmes County and Humphreys County.


History: The county was created in 1823 and Beatties Bluff was selected as the county seat. The county moved to Benton in 1829. The first court was held in the log home of William W Gadberry. Benton became the county seat in 1836. The county used rented premises. The county seat was moved to Yazoo City in 1848. In 1849, the first courthouse was designed by William Nichols who designed the Governor’s Mansion in Jackson. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on July 4, 1863. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1871 to 1872 at a cost of $65,000.




County Courthouse – Yazoo City

























County Office Building – Yazoo City

Photos taken 2012