Perry County

US States / M / Mississippi / Perry County

Perry County is named for Oliver Hazard Perry, who was a Commodore in the United States navy and who defeated the British in the decisive Battle of Lake Erie in 1813.


Created:  February 3, 1820

County Seat: 

New Augusta  1820 – present


County Courthouse – New Augusta 


Location:  101 Main Street / 2nd Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  William S Hull of Jackson

Contractor:  McGee and Garber


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brickstructure. The east front has a projecting center section with a large portico having three arches on the first story and four columns rising to a pediment with circular window at the roof line. The windows have stone trim at the top and are vertical and narrow. The roof is hipped. An addition was built on the southwest side in 1992. The architect was Albert & Lewis and the contractor was Finlo Construction Company Inc.



N – Jones County and Wayne County

E – Greene County and George County 

S – George County and Stone County

W – Forrest County























Photos taken 2012