Jones County

US States / M / Mississippi / Jones County

Jones County is named for John Paul Jones, who was a naval fighter during the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1747 to 1792.


Created:  January 24, 1826

County Seat: 

Ellisville    1826 – present

Laurel       1826 – present

* Jones County has two county seats


County Courthouse – Ellisville 


Location:  101 North Court Street / West Holly Street

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Penn Jeffries Krouse

Contractor:  W M Norris and Frank Gardner


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Ellisville. The west front has a projecting portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There is a balcony on the second story,. A horizontal belt runs below the projecting cornice below the roof line. There are stone trim and small pediments above the windows. On the north and south sides are large porches with two high columns rising to the top of the second story. There are wide balconies on the second story. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story.


Note:  The courthouse is almost identical to the courthouse in Laurel as both courthouses were constructed at the same time. The cornerstone of the Laurel courthouses shows the date July 4, 1907 and the cornerstone Ellisville courthouse shows the date July 4, 1908.


See:  The other courthouse is in Laurel.



N – Smith County and Jasper County

E – Wayne County

S – Perry County and Forrest County

W – Covington County





County Courthouse – Ellisville




























Photos taken 2012 and 2017