Jefferson County

US States / M / Mississippi / Jefferson County

Jefferson County is named for Thomas Jefferson, who was President of the United States from 1801 to 1809.


Created:  April 2, 1799

County Seat: 

Fayette  1799 – present


County Courthouse – Fayette 


Location:  307 South Main Street / Poindexter Street

Built:  1993 – 1994

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Godfrey, Bassett, Kuykendall & Campbell Architects, Ltd.

Contractor:  Galler Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The east front has a brick one story porch with arched entrance. The main part of the building rises to a peak with sloped roof. The corners have stone trim. On the south side is a one story wing.




Note: The former Victorian courthouse was designed by Andrew J Bryan & Company and constructed by Capitol City Building Company in 1902. The building burned and was replaced in 1993. The building had a tower and turrets. The frontal pediment and the stone and brick entrance were all that could be salvaged,



N – Clairborne County

E – Copiah County and Lincoln County

S – Franklin County and Adams County

W – Tensas Parish, Louisiana



















Photos taken 2011