Jackson County

US States / M / Mississippi / Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the 7th President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Created:  December 18, 1812

County Seat: 

Pascagoula  1812 – present


County Courthouse – Pascagoula 


Location:  3104 Magnolia Street / Watts Avenue

Built:  1948 – 1949

Style:  Art Deco and Stripped Classical

Architect:  Carl L Olschner

Contractor:  W K Upchurch Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Pascagoula. The west front has a projecting center section with vertical dividers between the windows and with the entrances on the first story. Bas-relief sculptures flank the simplified portico. One sculpture depicts fishermen while the other shows construction laborers, perhaps implying the change from a simple maritime economy to a more industrialized base. A north and south wing extend behind the center section. The roof line is flat. Lester C Winterton was the consulting engineer.



N – George County

E – Mobile County, Alabama

S – Gulf of Mexico

W – Harrison County




County Courthouse – Pascagoula



















Photos taken 2011