Issaquena County

US States / M / Mississippi / Issaquena County

Issaquena County is named for the Native American word meaning “deer river”.


Surrounding County and Parish Courthouses: 

N – Washington County

E – Sharkey County and Yazoo County

S – Warren County

W – East Carroll Parish, Louisiana


Created:  January 23, 1844                                                        Map of Mississippi highlighting Issaquena County

County Seat: 

Mayersville  1844 – present


County Courthouse – Mayersville 


Location:  129 Court Street / Cedar Street

Built:  1957 – 1958

Style:  Modern

Architect:  I G Alexander

Contractor:  Wright and Maugh Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story buff colored brick and yellow metal structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mayersville. The south front has a projecting center section with three large rectangular openings and a recessed central entrance which opens into the large courtroom. The base of the building is buff colored brick and the upper part is metal siding. Along the east and west sides are iron supports. The roof is sloped. The interior has cinder block walls.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in 1871.







County Courthouse – Mayersville
















Photos taken 2012