Franklin County

US States / M / Mississippi / Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Created:  December 21, 1809

County Seat: 

West Meadville  1809 – 1819

Meadville           1819 – present


County Courthouse – Meadville      


Location:  36 Main Street / Walnut Street

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Noah Webster Overstreet of Spencer Overstreet & Paine

Contractor:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story dark red colored brick structure.The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Meadville. The north front has two stone pillars on either side of the central entrance which has a stone canopy. The roof has a wide overhang and is sloped with red colored shingles. The east and west wings are recessed. In 1958, an addition was added to the south side. The architect was Overstreet, Ware & Ware and the contractor was Southern Construction Company. In 1969, the building was renovated. The architect was John Bishop Seavey and the contractor was Druetta Construction Company.


See:  The architect, Noah Webster Overstreet of Jackson, also designed courthouses in Alcorn CountyBolivar CountyChoctaw CountyFranklin CountyPontotoc CountyPrentiss CountyRankin CountyTippah County and Webster County.


See:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama also constructed courthouses in Alabama in Fayette County, Jackson County and Limestone Countyin Georgia in Bleckley County, Clarke County, Lincoln County and Walker County; and in Mississippi in Lawrence County, Walthall County and Webster County.



N – Jefferson County and Lincoln County

E – Lincoln County

S – Amite County and Wilkinson County

W – Adams County





County Courthouse – Meadville
















Photos taken 2011