Bolivar County

US States / M / Mississippi / Bolivar County

Bolivar County is named for Simon Bolivar, who was a South America hero and founder of several South American countries.


Created:  February 9, 1836

County Seat: 

Bolivar Landing  1836 – 1844

Jackson’s Point  1844 – 1847

Bolivia                1847 – 1852

Prentiss              1852 – 1866

Beulah                1866 – 1872

Rosedale            1872 – present   ( First Judicial District )

Cleveland           1900 – present   ( Second Judicial District )

* Bolivar County has two county seats.


County Courthouse – Cleveland


Location:  200 South Court Street / North Pearman Street

Built:  1923 – 1924

Style:  Italian Renaissance

Architect:  Noah Webster Overstreet

Contractor:  W C Stout


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick structure. The south front has a central section with four large columns and recessed arched windows on the second story. The east and west sections project from the main building. Between the outer sections and the central section are two square towers rising above the roof line. The red colored roof is hipped. The building houses the court for the Second Judicial District. In 1957, an addition was constructed. The architect was Harold Kaplan and the contractor was D M Fleming, Jr.


See:  The architect, Noah Webster Overstreet of Jackson, also designed courthouses in Alcorn CountyChoctaw CountyFranklin CountyPontotoc CountyPrentiss CountyRankin CountyTippah County and Webster County.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by William S Hull and constructed by W B Hull and W S H Hull in 1901.


County Courthouse – Rosedale




Location:  801 Main Street / Dr. Martin Luther King Street

Built:  1922 – 1924

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Kramer & Lindsley of Jackson

Contractor:  S W Leard of McCool


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story buff colored brick structure. The west front has a small central porch with two columns and recessed entrances. On the wide header above the porch at the roof line is a clock. A wide cornice runs below the flat roof line. Vertical piasters divide the double windows.  The courtroom is located in the center of the building and the building houses the court for the First Judicial District. he building was renovated in 1960. The architect was Norwood & Kenny.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Bartlett & Thompson and constructed by John T Barnes in 1889.



N – Coahoma County

E – Coahoma County and Sunflower County 

S – Washington County

W – Chicot County, Arkansas and Desha County, Arkansas












































Photos taken 2012