Adams County

US States / M / Mississippi / Adams County

Adams County is named for John Adams, who was the second President of the United States.


Surrounding Parish and County Courthouses: 

N – Jefferson County

E – Franklin County

S – Wilkinson County

W – Concordia Parish, Louisiana and Tensas Parish, Louisiana


Created:  April 2, 1799                                                                Map of Mississippi highlighting Adams County

County Seat: 

Natchez  1799 – present


County Courthouse – Natchez 


Location:  115 South Wall Street / State Street

Built:  1819 – 1821

Style:  Greek Revival and Antebellum

Architect:  William Stietenroth.(1825)

Contractor:  Local slave labor


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story white colored brick and wood structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Natchez. The northwest front, northeast side and southwest side have large porticos with four high white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The roof is hipped. In the interior, on the second story, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located at the northwest side and the County Chancery Court courtroom is located on the southeast side. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial District, County Chancery Court, County Court and County Justice Court. The building was remodeled in 1925. The architect was William Stietenroth. On the southeast side is a large square shaped addition constructed in 1978. The architect was Charles Curtis Moroney and the contractor was J A Russ & Sons.


Note:  The original courthouse was a two story Federal style structure with cupola. The designer and builder are not known but Peter Little and Thomas Rose were master builders in Natchez. The courthouse is the oldest courthouse still in continuous use in Mississippi. However, the building has been substantially altered from the original structure and the courthouse in Amite County built in 1839 is referred to as the oldest courthouse.


See:  Mississippi has five functioning antebellum courthouses located in Amite CountyClaiborne CountyHinds County – Raymond and Monroe County.


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes  Amite County, Franklin County and Wilkinson County.


History:  The county was created in 1799 and Natchez was selected as the county seat. The county was the first county created along with Jefferson County in the Natchez District. The county used rented premises. The fist and present courthouse was constructed in 1819 to 1821.




County Courthouse – Natchez































County Circuit Court courtroom






















Photos taken 2011 and 2019