Todd County

US States / M / Minnesota / Todd County

Todd County is named for John Blair Todd, who was the commander of Fort Ripley from 1849 to 1856, a general in the American Civil War, a delegate to Congress from the Dakota Territory in 1861 and from 1863 to 1865, and Governor of the Dakota Territory from 1869 to  1871.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wadena County and Cass County

E – Morrison County

S – Stearns County

W – Douglas County and Otter Tail County


Created:  February 20, 1855                  Map of Minnesota highlighting Todd County

County Seat:

Long Prairie  1870 – present


County Justice Center – Long Prairie


Location:  221 1st Avenue South / 3rd Street North

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Stegner-Hendrickson-McNutt and Erickson-Ellison

Contractor:  Carlson Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story brick and concrete structure. The building sits at the base of the old courthouse in the center of Long Prairie. The north front has four large white colored columns rising to the roof level. Along the east side are four more white colored columns. The walls are dark blue colored glass. On the west side the section is brick with few windows. The courtrooms are located on the second story, The building is named as the County Justice Center. In 1979 to 1980, the two story service building was completed on the east side. The architect was Stegner-Hendrickson-McNutt and the contractor was Carlson Company. In 1996 to 1997, the modern addition was added to the building on the east side.  The architect was Boarman, Kroos, Pfister, Rudin and Associates and the contractor was E & V Construction Managers.


County Courthouse – Long Prairie




Location:  221 1st Avenue South / 3rd Street North

Built:  1883 – 1884

Style:  Italian Renaissance

Architect:  Charles J Sparks

Contractor:  Samuel Lee


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored brick avant garde structure which sits high on a hill in the center of Long Prairie The north front extends from the building on the first story. The windows on the second are arched. The tower on the third story has five small arched windows. The old courtroom is located at the center of the second story and now houses the Commissioners. In 1938, a tunnel was constructed under the building. the building was renovated in 2012. The architect was Collaborative Design Group and the contractor was Contegrity Group Inc.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Todd County Courthouse


History:  The county was created in 1855 and Long Prairie was selected as the count seat in 1867 when the county was organized. The first courthouse in 1870 was a donated building in Long Prairie. The second courthouse was a two story frame structure built by G B V Williams at a cost of $2,500. The third courthouse was constructed in 1883 to 1884 at a cost of $20,000 and is still standing. The fourth and present courthouse, the County Justice Center, was constructed in 1964 to 1965 at a cost of $200,245.




County Justice Center – Long Prairie
















County Courthouse – Long Prairie
































Photos taken 2007, 2008 and 2019