Stearns County

US States / M / Minnesota / Stearns County

Stearns County is named after Charles Thomas Stearns, by mistake. The county was to be named after Isaac Ingalls Stevens, but an error was made.


Created:  February 20, 1855

County Seat:

St.   Cloud  1855 – present


County Courthouse – St. Cloud


Location:  725 Courthouse Square / 8th Avenue South

Built:  1921 – 1922

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Leo W Schefer of St. Cloud for Toltz, King and Day of Saint Paul

Contractor:  Charles Skooglun of Saint Paul


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The south front has a granite columned portico and a shallow dome of yellow tile set on a low swag-decorated drum. The building stands 109 feet above street level and measures 120 feet by 130 feet. The building is made of red colored brick and granite block over reinforced concrete. Terra cotta panels decorate the parapet and upper stories, and the same material provides ornamental bands at the water table, frieze, belt course and window surrounds. Above the six-columned portico is carved “Stearns County Courthouse / A Landmark of Civic Progress / A memorial to Sturdy Pioneers”. Dates carved on each side mark the county and courthouse in time. On the east are the words “The Pedestal of Liberty is Justice”, and on the west side “Where Law Ends Tyranny Begins” Inside, marble is used in the floors, stairs, wainscoting, columns and pilasters. A mural by Elsa Jemne depicts the Native American, the first inhabitant of the land. The building was renovated in 1991.


See:  The architect, Toltz, King & Day of St. Paul, Minnesota designed many courthouses.



N – Todd County and Morrison County

E –  Benton County, Sherburne County and Wright County

S – Wright County, Meeker County and Kandiyohi County

W – Pope County























Photos taken 2007 and 2008