Norman County

US States / M / Minnesota / Norman County

Norman County is named in honor of the large number of Norwegians or Normans, who settled in the country and in the county.


Created:  February 17, 1881

County Seat:

Ada  1881 – present


County Courthouse – Ada


Location:  16 East Third Avenue  /  2nd Street East

Built:  1903 – 1904

Style:   Richardsonian Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Omeyer and Thori of Saint Paul

Contractor:  Olaf Swenson of Saint Paul


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red-brown colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds, is 90 feet by 90 feet, and the pressed red-brown colored brick building is accented by sandstone. There is a tall square, central tower with peaked corner pavilions and a gabled central section with wide arched windows at the second level. Inside are marble wainscoting, granite steps in the front entry, the high central atrium, and the 15 foot ceilings. In 1975, a 500 foot by 80 foot building of similar brick was added to the south rear of the original structure.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by O H Myron in 1883 and rented to the county. The county bought the building in 1885 for $2,400. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $60,637.



N – Polk County

E – Mahnomen County

S – Becker County and Clay County

W – Cass County, North Dakota and Traill County, North Dakota 





























Photos taken 2007 and 2008