Lyon County

US States / M / Minnesota / Lyon County

Lyon County is named after General Nathaniel Lyon, who worked against secession in Missouri, served in frontier duty with the Army in Minnesota and Dakota territories and was killed during the Civil War at Wilson’s Creek, Missouri in 1861.


Created:  March 6, 1868

County Seat:

Lynd        1873

Marshall  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Marshall


Location:  607  West Main Street / South 6th Street

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Modern ( formerly Victorian Romanesque )

Architect:   Fred Thayer

Contractor:  J D Carroll


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building was originally a Victorian Romanesque style structure built in 1892. While the original square romantic tower and its clock have been removed from the east end, the early courtroom remains on the second floor as part of the county museum. The gabled hip roof of the early building rises well above the flat roofs of additions added on the west and east in 1939 and 1975. The architect was Stegner Hendrickson, McNutt and Sullivan of Mankato. Remodeled in 1993, the modern building is a three story red colored brick structure. The building faces north and was completed in 1994. At the north side are narrow windows and a curved projection at the main entrance located in the center. The architect was Group II Architects and Bake Kopp Ballou & McFarlin Inc. and the contractor was LS Engineers. In 2016, the building was extended north with a three story addition. The architect was Vetter Johnson Architects, Inc. and the contractor was Contegrity Group, Inc.


Note:  The first courthouse was the Kiel’s Hotel in Lynd in 1873. The second courthouse was built in Marshall in 1876 at a cost of $450. The third courthouse was constructed in 1891 but burned and was replaced in 1892.



N – Yellow Medicine County

E – Yellow Medicine County and Redwood County

S – Murray County

W – Lincoln County








































Photos taken 2007, 2010 and 2017