Kittson County

US States / M / Minnesota / Kittson County

Kittson County is named after Norman Wolfren Kittson, a fur trader and railroad entrepreneur.


Surrounding County and Canada Courthouses: 

N – Manitoba, Canada

E – Roseau County

S – Marshall County

W – Pembina County, North Dakota



Created:  March 9, 1878                         Map of Minnesota highlighting Kittson County

County Seat:

Hallock  1878 – present


County Courthouse – Hallock


Location:   410 South Fifth Street / South Douglas Avenue

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Wells, Denbrooke and Associates and Mooney, Nenning and Associates of Grand Forks, North Dakota

Contractor:  Dean L Witcher, Inc. of Minneapolis


Description:  The building faces north and is a low horizontal two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on a slight slope creating the two stories on landscaped grounds in the center of Hallock. Panels of brick stripe the building. Small double-hung windows are set into strips between the brick. The entrance is recessed and a flat slab roof tops the building. The courtroom is located at the east side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 9th Judicial District.


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Aitkin County, Beltrami County, Cass County, Clearwater CountyCrow Wing CountyHubbard CountyItasca CountyKoochiching CountyLake of the Woods CountyMahnomen County, Marshall CountyNorman CountyPennington CountyPolk County, Red Lake County and Roseau County.


History:  The county was created in 1878 and Hallock was selected as the county seat. The first court was held in 1881 in the Hotel Hallock. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by J W Ross and built by August Wallensten in 1896 at a cost of $20,000. The building was torn down in 1965. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $839,000.




County Courthouse – Hallock

























Photos taken 2007, 2008 and 2017