Itasca County

US States / M / Minnesota / Itasca County

Itasca County is taken from the Latin words for “truth” and ”head” as the Mississippi River passes through the county from Lake Itasca.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Koochiching County

E – Saint Louis County

S – Aitkin County

W – Cass County and Beltrami County 


Created:  October 27, 1849                    Map of Minnesota highlighting Itasca County

County Seat:

Grand Rapids  1849 – present


County Courthouse – Grand Rapids


Location:  123 NE 4th Street / NE 1st Avenue

Built:  1950 – 1951

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Jyring & Jurenes from Hibbing and A G Wahlberg

Contractor:  H L Stavin Inc. of Hibbing


Description:  The building faces south and is a block structure. The rectangular shaped  building is located on landscaped grounds to the east of the center of Grand Rapids. The building is made from cream-colored Mankato stone neatly trimmed with Cold Spring rainbow granite. The building has three horizontal rows of windows. A central slightly recessed entrance is built with glass reaching three stories. In the interior are three County District Court courtrooms located on the third story. The building houses the County District Court of the 9th Judicial District. A floor was added in 1969 to the west end and two additional floors were built in 1978. Construction of a Law Enforcement Center and the remodeling of the existing jail, all connected to the courthouse, began in 1982. In 1984, the east wing was constructed. The architect was Architecture Resources, Inc. of Duluth and the contractor of Phase I was Building Constructors, Inc. of Minnetonka and Phase II was David N Volkman Construction, Inc. of Circle Pine. In 2022 to 2023, the Justice Center was constructed on the west side. The architect was Klein McCarthy Architects and the contractor was Contegrity Group Inc. The Justice Center will house three more courtrooms.


See:  The architect Jyring and Jurenes of Hibbing also designed the courthouse in Saint Louis County – Hibbing.


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Aitkin County, Beltrami County, Cass County, Clearwater CountyCrow Wing CountyHubbard CountyKittson CountyKoochiching CountyLake of the Woods CountyMahnomen County, Marshall CountyNorman CountyPennington CountyPolk County, Red Lake County and Roseau County.


History:  The county was created in 1849 and Grands Rapids was selected as the county seat. The county was attached to Morrison County for judicial purposes as there were few people living in the count. The first courthouse was a frame structure built in 1892. In 1894, the second courthouse was designed by Wangenstein & Baile and was built by George R King & Company at a cost of $46,704. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1950 to 1951 at a cost of $840,000. The Justice Center was constructed in 2022 to 2023 at a cost of $75,000,000.




County Courthouse – Grand Rapids


































County District Court courtroom

























County Justice Center under construction 2022




Picture 1894 County Courthouse




Photos taken 2008, 2010, 2019 and 2022