Crow Wing County

US States / M / Minnesota / Crow Wing County
Crow Wing -A

Crow Wing County is named for the Crow Wing River and is a loose translation of the Kagiwigwa or Ojibway name for the river meaning “raven feather”.


Created:  May 23, 1857

County Seat:

Brainerd  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Brainerd


Location:  326   Laurel Street / South 4th Street

Built:  1919 – 1920

Style:  Classical Revival style

Architect:  Alden and Harris of Saint Paul

Contractor:  J & W A Elliot Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story stone and concrete structure.The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city.  Built of smooth cut gray stone, the building is 130 feet by 90 feet. Above a high rough cut stone basement on the first floor are piers and columns which reach to the third story cornice. A medallion and flagpole anchor the centre of the building’s classically symmetrical features. The double glass doors with transom and sidelights are highlighted by an arch and cast iron lamp posts. The interior has polished marble floors and walls, and a balconied rotunda. A coloured glass skylight dominates the dome, from which a fine brass elecytolier with white glass fittings hangs above wide stairways.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1872 at a cost of $30,000. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $279,398.


County Judicial Center – Brainerd




Location:   213 Laurel Street / South 4th Street

Built:  2004 – 2006

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Wold Architects & Engineers

Contractor:  Construction Analysis & Management


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city to the northwest of the courthouse. The building has glass paneled walls with the main entrance on the first story of the east front. The roof line is flat.



N – Cass County

E – Aitkin County and Mille Lacs County

S – Morrison County

W – Morrison County and Cass County





County Courthpouse






















County Judicial Center







Photos taken 2007