Carlton County

US States / M / Minnesota / Carlton County

Carlton County is named for Reuben B Carlton, one of the first settlers in the town of Fond du Lac and who was a farmer and blacksmith for the Ojibway.


Created:  May 23, 1857

County Seat:

Twin Lakes               1857 – 1870

Thomson                  1870 – 1890

Carlton ( Cloquet )   1890 – present


County Courthouse – Carlton


Location:  301 Walnut Avenue / 3rd Street

Built:  1922 – 1924

Style:  Classical Second Renaissance Revival

Architect:  Clyde W Kelly

Contractor:  Niebuhr Company of Minneapolis


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story cream colored brick, concrete and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. In the center section are four columns rising from the second to the top of the third story. The base of the building is stone. The roof is hipped.


Note:  The first courthouse was a frame building in Thomson. In 1890, a courthouse was built in Cloquet which became Carlton. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $301,350.



N – Saint Louis County

E – Douglas County, Wisconsin

S – Pine County

W – Aitkin County





County Courthouse







Photos taken 2006 and 2007