Anoka County

US States / M / Minnesota / Anoka County

Anoka County is named for the Dakota word “anoka” which means “on both sides” as the City of Anoka was laid out on both sides of the Rum River.


Created:   May 23, 1857

County Seat:

Anoka  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Anoka


Location:  325 East Main Street / North 3rd Avenue

Built:  1960 – 1961

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Patch, Erickson, Madson of Minneapolis

Contractor:  Bor-Son Construction Company of Minneapolis


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story rectangular red colored brick, cream colored native limestone and concrete structure. The building is faced with brick on the first story and aluminum-ribbed enamel panels and glass on the second and third stories. The roof line is flat.  In 1972, the third story was added. The building is connected to the east and west wings which were constructed later. In 1966 the east wing was constructed. From 1976 to 1980, a four story red colored brick west wing was constructed. The architect was Patch, Erickson, Madson of Minneapolis and the contractor was Adolphson & Peterson Construction.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1858 in Fridley which was incorporated into Anoka County in 1869. The second courthouse was designed by B A Bergsma and built in Anoka in 1878.The cost of construction of the present courthouse in 1960 was $1,500,000.


County Government Center - Anoka




Location:  2100 North 3rd Avenue / Jackson Street

Built:  1990 – 1992

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Buetow Associates

Contractor:  M A Mortenson Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a six story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The first story has vertical concrete pillars with glass walls. The windows are horizontal. The roof line is flat.  The building is connected to the courthouse on the south and east sides.



N – Isanti County

E – Chisago County and Washington County

S – Ramsey County and Hennepin County

W – Hennepin County and Sherburne County





























Photos taken 2008 and 2010