Washtenaw County

US States / M / Michigan / Washtenaw County

Washtenaw County is named for the Native American word “wash-ten-ong” meaning “at or on the river”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Livingston County and Oakland County

E – Wayne County

S – Monroe County and Lenawee County

W – Ingham County


Created:  September 10, 1822               Map of Michigan highlighting Washtenaw County

County Seat:

Ann Arbor  1826 – present


County Courthouse – Ann Arbor 


Location:  101 East Huron Street / North Main Street

Built:  1954 – 1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ralph S Gerganoff of Ypsilanti

Contractor:  A W Kutsche & Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story wjite colored stone, glass and concrete structure. The building is “L” shaped. with a southj and west wing. The southwest section has a central entrance with glass panels rising to the flat roof line. The southeast section has glass walls.  The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by G W Bunting of Indianapolis, Indiana and constructed by McCormick & Sweeny of Columbus, Indiana in 1877 to 1878. The cost of construction was $83,000.  The present courthopuise was constructed around the old courthouse which was later demolished.


See: The architect,  Ralph S Gerganoff of Ypsilanti, designed courthouses  in Alcona County, Allegan County, Arenac County and Charlevoix County, and with Stephen T Gerganoff of Ypsilanti in Huron County.


See:  Michigan’s County Courthouses by John Fedynsky


Other Branch Courthouses


Chelsea  /  Saline  /  Ypsilanti




County Courthouse - Ann Arbor 
















Photos taken 2008