Emmet County

US States / M / Michigan / Emmet County

Emmet County is named for Robert Emmet, who was an Irish patriot who was hanged as a traitor to the British government at the age of 23 years.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mackinac County

E – Cheboygan County

S – Charlevoix County 

 Charlevoix County and Lake Michigan


Created:  April 1, 1840                           Map of Michigan highlighting Emmet County

County Seat:

Mackinaw City   1853 – 1857

Harbor Springs  1857 – 1858

Mackinaw City   1858 – 1868

Charlevoix         1868 – 1869

Harbor Springs  1869 – 1902

Petoskey           1902 – present


County Courthouse – Petoskey


Location:  200 Division Street / Lake Street

Built:  1964 – 1966

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Warren Holmes of Lansing

Contractor:  Omega Construction Company Inc. of Grandville


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story brown colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building descends down the hill on the west side. The northeast section is two stories with narrow vertical windows. The south section is one story with the main entrance at the north end. The southwest section runs down the hill and has curved glass windows. The roof line is flat. The building was first used by the county and city and then transferred to the county. The building was renovated in 1990. In 2005, a new wing was added to provide courtrooms and jail.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1901 to 1902 at a cost of $40,000. The building was razed in 1968 and the clock was placed in a steel tower at the harbor in 1996.


See:  The contractor, Omega Construction Company Inc.of Grandville, constructed courthouses in Antrim County, Luce County and Schoolcraft County.


See:  Michigan’s County Courthouses by John Fedynsky




County Courthouse - Petoskey   






















Photos taken 2008