Winn Parish

US States / H-L / Louisiana / Winn Parish

Winn Parish is named for Walter Winn, who was a Louisiana state legislator.


Created:  February 24, 1852

County Seat: 

Winnfield  1852 – present


Parish Courthouse – Winnfield  


Location:  119 West Main Street / North Jones Street

Built:  1961 – 1962

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Nolan, Norman & Nolan

Contractor:  Ranni Terral


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Winnfield. The north front has a recessed central entrance on the second story. On the south side the lower story is exposed by the slope of the hill. The windows are vertical. A white colored horizontal band runs below the flat roof line.


Note:  The 1896 courthouse was designed by W S Hull and constructed by W S Hull and F B Hull. The building burned in 1917 and was replaced in 1922 with a courthouse designed by J W Smith and constructed by Caldwell Brother Construction Company.



N – Bienville Parish and Jackson Parish

E – Caldwell Parish and La Salle Parish

S –  Grant Parish

W – Natchitoches Parish





Parish Courthouse – Winnfield
















Photos taken 2011