West Baton Rouge Parish

US States / H-L / Louisiana / West Baton Rouge Parish
West Baton Rouge

West Baton Rouge Parish is named for “baton rouge” being French words meaning “red stick” referring to a tall cypress tree stripped of its bark and draped with freshly killed animals that marked the boundary between the hunting grounds of two Indian tribes in 1699.


Created:  March 31, 1807 

County Seat: 

Port Allen  1807 – present


Parish Courthouse – Port Allen  


Location:  850 8th Street / Louisiana Avenue

Built:  1956 – 1957

Style:  Modern Greek Revival

Architect:  Goodman and Miller and John H Farrens Jr.

Contractor:  Ross E Cox


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The west front has a large portico with six high columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The center of the building extends from the main building.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Henry Thiberge and constructed by Adolph Thieson in 1882.



N – Pointe Coupee Parish, West Feliciana Parish and East Feliciana Parish

E – East Baton Rouge Parish

S – Iberville Parish

W – Iberville Parish




















Photos taken 2011