Saint John the Baptist Parish

US States / H-L / Louisiana / Saint John the Baptist Parish
St. John

Saint John the Baptist Parish is named for Saint John the Baptist, who was one of the disciples of Jesus Christ.


Created:  March 31, 1807

Parish Seat: 

Edgard  1807 – present


Parish Courthouse – Edgard  


Location:  2393 Highway 18 / East 3rd Street

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Thompson B Burk

Contractor:  James A Eilan Jr., Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story brown colored concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds. The north front has an open porch rising to a peaked roof. The main building extends east and west with few windows. The hipped roof is green colored tiles.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built by T Peralto & Company in 1847. The building was renovated in 1938. The architect was Diboll, Boettner & Kissels. 



N – Livingston Parish and Tangipahoa Parish

E – Jefferson Parish and Saint Charles Parish

S – Lafourche Parish

W – Saint James Parish and Ascension Parish























Photos taken 2011