Ouachita Parish

US States / H-L / Louisiana / Ouachita Parish

Ouachita Parish is named for the Ouachita Native American people.


Created:  April 10, 1805

Parish Seat  :        

Monroe  1807 – present


Parish Courthouse – Monroe 


Location:  300 Saint John Street / Wood Street

Built:  1924 – 1925

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  J W Smith and W H Land

Contractor:  Caldwell Brothers


Description:  The building faces east and is a four story gray stone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Monroe. The east front has three central arches at the entrance on the first story. Above are eight columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. The roof is green. The building was renovated in 1956. The building was enlarged in 1967 to 1968. The architect was H H Land Architect Inc. and the contractor was Jessie F Heard & Sons Inc. Alterations were made on the fourth story in 2001. The architect was Herbert Land Architect Inc. and the contractor was Lincoln Builders Inc. On the south side of the building is the red colored brick Courthouse Annex.


See: The architect firm, J W Smith and Associates, designed many of  the courthouses in Louisiana. These courthouses are found in Caldwell Parish, Catahoula Parish, East Carroll Parish, Jackson Parish, Madison Parish and Natchitoches Parish


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1816. The previous courthouse was built by Hannan & Voss in 1883.



N – Union Parish and Morehouse Parish

E – Richland Parish

S – Caldwell Parish

W – Jackson Parish and Lincoln Parish





Parish Courthouse – Monroe
















Parish Courthouse Annex – Monroe







Photos taken 2011