Lincoln Parish

US States / H-L / Louisiana / Lincoln Parish

Lincoln County is named for Abraham Lincoln, who was a member of Congress from Illinois (1847-1849) and President of the United States (1861-1865).


Created:  February 27, 1873

Parish Seat: 

Ruston  1873 – present


Parish Courthouse – Ruston  


Location:  100 West Texas Avenue / South Vienna Street

Built:  1949 – 1950

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Neild & Somdal

Contractor:  Southern Builders Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a four story orange colored brick and concrete structure. The east front has a slightly projecting center section which rises above the main building and with the entrance on the first story which faced with stone. The first story windows are horizontal. On the roof to a recessed fourth story.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by James Riely Gordon and constructed by M T Lewman & Company in 1903.



N – Claiborne Parish and Union Parish 

E – Ouachita Parish

S – Jackson Parish and Bienville Parish

W – Bienville Parish and Claiborne Parish 

















Photos taken 2011