Jackson Parish

US States / H-L / Louisiana / Jackson Parish

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the 7th President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Created:  February 27, 1845

Parish Seat  :        

Vernon       1845 – 1911

Jonesboro  1911 – present


Parish Courthouse – Jonesboro 


Location:  500 East Court Street / 5th Street

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  J W Smith and Associates

Contractor:  H H Land


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The first story is faced with Indiana Limestone and above is buff colored brick. The windows are vertical with vertical panels between. The roof over hangs and is sloped. This was a Federal Emergency Administration of Public Works project. The building was renovated in 1966. The architect was Yeager, Young and Associates and the contractor was F C Barbon.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by L L Thurmon & Company and constructed by Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky in 1912. On February 16, 1936 an explosion completely demolished the courthouse. Occuring in the basement of the courthouse, it literally blew the building to pieces.


See: The architect firm, J W Smith and Associates, designed many of  the courthouses in Louisiana. These courthouses are found in Caldwell Parish, Catahoula Parish, East Carroll Parish, Madison Parish, Natchitoches Parish and Ouachita Parish



N – Lincoln Parish

E – Ouachita Parish and Caldwell Parish

S – Winn Parish

W – Bienville Parish



















Photos taken 2011