Spencer County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Spencer County

Spencer County is named for Spears Spenser, who was a military captain killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Shelby County 

E – Anderson County

S – Nelson County

W – Bullitt County and Jefferson County


Created:  January 7, 1824                      Map of Kentucky highlighting Spencer County

County Seat: 

Taylorsville  1824 – present


County Courthouse –  Taylorsville  


Location:  2 West Main Street / Main Cross Street

Built:  1915 – 1916

Style:  Beaux Arts / Classical Revival

Architect:  General Construction Company of Louisville

Contractor:  Gasway W Bowles of Louisville


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story dark red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Taylorsville. The south front has a large portico with four large white colored Roman Ionic columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The rectangular shaped building has a raised basement. The roof is hipped. The interior is relatively intact with original wall and floor finishes in halls, some original half-glazed doors, original vaults, and a second floor courtroom with a historic balustrade and paneled partition. The balcony in the courtroom has been sealed off. On the west side is a large addition built in 1974 with brown colored brick construction and connected to the old People’s Bank Building built in 1903. Behind the courthouse is the old jail constructed in 1922.


County Courthouse Annex –  Taylorsville  




Location:  27 East Main Street / Main Cross Street

Built:  1988

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Taylorville to the east of the courthouse. The south front has a white colored portico supported by four columns rising to a pediment. The white colored entrance has a fanlight, The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building is the Spencer County Fiscal Court Building. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County District Court of the 53rd Judicial District.


See:  The 53rd Judicial Circuit includes Anderson CountyShelby County and SpencerCounty, 


History:  The county was created in 1824 and Taylorsville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse in 1824 was a house built by Matthew Nelson, Taylor Besse, George Boone and Ralph Lancaster and located on Lot 56 on the south side of Main Street which was rented and then purchased. The second courthouse was built by George McGew in 1828 on the public square at a cost of $6,740. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1865. The third courthouse was built in 1870 on the present site. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1913. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1915 to 1916 at a cost of $28,000. The County Courthouse Annex was constructed in 1988,




County Courthouse - Taylorsville




























County Courthouse Annex - Taylorsville



















Photos taken 2007 and 2018