McLean County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / McLean County

McLean County is named for Alney McLean, who was a United States Representation from 1815 to 1817 and from 1819 to 1821.


Created:  February 6, 1854

County Seat: 

Calhoun  1854 – present


County Courthouse – Calhoun 


Location:  210   Main Street / East 2nd Street

Built:  1904 – 1908

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:   Harris & Shopbell

Contractor:  Luckett Brothers.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. The west front has two large Beaux Arts Ionic columns supporting a wide white colored header. The recessed entrance has a small white colored balcony at the second story arched window, A white colored horizontal band is located at the top of the second story and above it is a white colored cornice.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1870.



N – Henderson County and Daviess County

E – Ohio County

S – Muhlenberg County and, Hopkins County

W – Hopkins County, Webster County and Henderson County














Photos taken 2007