Marshall County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Marshall County

Marshall County is named for John Marshall, who was the Chief Justice of the United States Supreme court from 1801 to 1835.


Created:  February 12, 1842

County Seat: 

Benton  1842 – present


County Courthouse –  Benton  


Location:  1101 Main Street / 11th Street

Built:  1915 – 1916

Style:  Beaux Arts and Neo-Classical

Architect:  Clifford Shopbell of Evansville, Indiana

Contractor:  W H Spradling and William Hill of Fulton


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. The west front has a protruding section with the entrance on the first story. Above the entrance is a small balcony and above that, a large window on the second story. White colored horizontal trim runs around the building and a further white colored trim cornice runs along the roof line. In 1961, an addition was added on the north side. In 1978, a further addition was added. The architect was LPS Architects and the contractor was Hal Perry Construction Company Inc.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by John McKinnon and constructed by M Lewman & Company in 1888. The building was destroyed by fire in 1914. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $24,000.


County Judicial Facility –  Benton  




Location:  80 Judicial Drive / Postal Drive

Built:  2002 – 2003

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Castleberry, McGregor Architects

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story structure. The south front has a high center section with sloped roof and glass panels around the entrance. The second story is recessed, The roof line is flat. .


Note:  The cost of construction of the Judicial Facility was $8,005,000.



N – Livingston County

E – Lyon County and Trigg County

S – Calloway County

W – Graves County and McCracken County





























Photos taken 2007 and 2012