Lyon County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Lyon County

Lyon County is named for Chittenden Lyon, who was a United State Representative from 1817 to 1835.


Created:  January 14, 1854

County Seat: 

Fairview   1854 – 1959

Eddyville  1959 – present


County Courthouse – Eddyville


Location:  500 West Dale Avenue / Commerce Street

Built:  1960 – 1961

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Lee Potter Smith & Associates

Contractor:  Charles E Story Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The main entrance is along the south side. A lower roof extends out from the building and is supported by posts. The building then rises to the roof. The Judicial Center is along the south side of the building.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in


County Judicial Center – Eddyville 




Location:  500 West Dale Avenue / Commerce Street

Built:  1998 – 2000

Style:  Modern Colonial

Architect:  CMW Inc. of Lexington

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The west front and south side have porticos with four white colored columns with pediment at the roof line. On the roof is a high octagonal white colored cupola. The courthouse is along the north side.



N – Crittenden County and Caldwell County

E – Caldwell County

S – Trigg County

W – Marshall County and Livingston County




















Photos taken 2007