Lewis County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Lewis County

Lewis County is named for Meriwether Lewis, who was an explorer with the Lewis and Clark Expedition.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Adams County, Ohio and Scioto County, Ohio

E – Greenup County and Carter County

S – Carter CountyRowan County and Fleming County

W – Fleming County and Mason County


Created:  December 21, 1806                Map of Kentucky highlighting Lewis County

County Seat: 

Poplar Flats   1806 – 1810

Clarksburg     1810 – 1863

Vanceburg     1863 – present


County Courthouse –  Vanceburg


Location:  122 2nd Avenue / Court Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  John T Gillege of Lexington

Contractor:  Ray Haney.


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a three story buff colored stone, steel and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Vanceburg. The northeast front has a large portico supported by four high white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. Behind the pediment is a square white colored stand with octagonal cupola with dome. The hipped roof forms a peak on the north and south sides towards the front of the building. The large courtroom is located on the third story. The building was constructed with a grant from the Public Works Administration. 


Note:  During construction of the courthouse, Ray Haney was the Superintendent of Construction and Thurston Bloomfield, a stone layer, was the foreman. Approximately 175 laborers were employed by the Works Project Administration during the 18 months of construction. The stone was quarried locally. Other trades were:

Meechan Construction Company of Ironton, Ohio – steel

Lewis Hammond – native stone

Frank Wilson – sand, gravel, brick and mill work

Henry Myers and Company of Portsmouth, Ohio – plumbing

N B Fisher and Son – plumbing

Wilford Mathewson – electrical

C H Keene of Brooksville – tin and sheet metal

Whitehurst Plumbing Company of Ashland – heating

Gayle Denham – hauling stone, sand and gravel

Orville H Lycon of Ashland – landscaping


County Justice Center – Vanceburg




Location:  94 2nd Avenue / Court Street

Built:  1998 – 2000

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Chrisman Miller Woodford of Lexington

Contractor:  Trace Creek Construction of Maysville


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on lanscaped grounds in the center of Vanceberg on the north side of the courthouse.The northeast front has a large portico supported by four large columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The center section is slightly recessed with the entrance on the first story. The corners of the building have stone trim. The eave projects along the flat roof line. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County District Court of the 20th Judicial District.


See:  The contractor, Trace Creek Construction Inc. also constructed the judicial centers in Bracken County, Fleming County and  Robertson County.


History:  The county was created in 1806. The court first met at the log house of Okie Hendrickson at Poplar Flats. The county seat was moved to Clarksburg in 1810 and the second courthouse, a two story log structure, was built. The county seat was moved to Vanceburg in 1864. In 1865, the third courthouse was built in Vanceburg by Mr. Flora of Bracken County at a cost of $25,000. The fourth and present courthouse was designed to resemble the Independence Hall in Philadelphia and constructed in 1939 to 1940 at a cost $98,277 to $150,000.  The County Justice Center was constructed in 1998 to 2000.




County Courthouse – Vanceburg














































County Justice Center – Vanceburg
















Photos taken 2012