Henderson County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Henderson County

Henderson County is named for Richard Henderson, who was the founder of the Transylvania Company and who lived from 1734 to 1785.


Created:  December 21, 1798

County Seat: 

Henderson  1798 – present


County Courthouse – Henderson  


Location:  20 North Main Street / 1st Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Tom Paine and Associates

Contractor:  Glover Brick Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story concrete and stone structure. The building sits on the edge of the central park. The west front has a semi-circular portico supported by four bluish marble columns. The entrance doorway is recessed with a glass front. The building is constructed in three tiers extending eastwards.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Edmund H Hopkins and constructed by Littleberry Weave in 1842.  An addition was added in 1866 as designed by Mursine & Boyd. Further additions were added in 1875 and 1881.


County Judicial Center – Henderson  




Location:  5 North Main Street / 1st Street

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Skinner Groves Architects

Contractor:  Hodge Structural Engineers of Evansville, Indiana


Description:  The building faces east and is four story concrete, red colored brick and stone structure. The east front has thirteen narrow columns rising from the second to four story, with glass windows recessed. The first story entrance is supported by red colored brick pillars with a light wide stone header. On either side are three red colored brick arches. Large square red colored brick and light stone towers are located at the southeast and northeast corners.


Note:  The cost of construction was $8,500,000.



N – Posey County, Indiana, Vanderburgh County, Indiana and Warrick County, Indiana

E – Daviess County

S – McLean County and Webster County

W – Union County














Photos taken 2007