Crittenden County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Crittenden County

Crittenden County is named for John Jordan Crittenden, who was Governor of Kentucky from 1848 to 1850.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hardin County, Illinois and Union County

E – Webster County

S – Caldwell County and Lyon County

W – Livingston County


Created:  January 16, 1842                    Map of Kentucky highlighting Crittenden County

County Seat: 

Marion 1842 – present


County Courthouse –  Marion


Location:  107 South Main Street / West Belleville Street

Built:  1960 – 1961

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Max W Bisson of Owensboro

Contractor:  Jones & Morgan Construction Company, Inc. of Paducah


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete utilitarian structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Marion. The main entrance is along the east side with a stone trimmed entrance with glass above the doorway. There are light stone panels between the vertical windows. The north and south wings are one story. 


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Crittenden County, Union County and Webster County.


History:  The county was created in 1842 and Marion was selected as the county seat. The first county meeting was held at the home of Samuel Ashley and further meetings were held in the Brick Church near Marion. The first courthouse was a log structure erected in 1842. The second courthouse was brick structure erected in 1844 and was destroyed by General Lyon’s troops in January 1865. The third courthouse was built after the Civil War and the courthouse burned in May 1870. The fourth courthouse was designed by J K Kirk and built 1n 12871.  The courthouse was torn down when the fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1960 to 1961 at a cost of $176,000.




County Courthouse – Marion













Photos taken 2007