Carter County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Carter County

Carter County is named for William Grayson Carter, who was a Kentucky state senator.


Created:  February 9, 1838

County Seat: 

Grayson  1838 – present


County Justice Center – Grayson 


Location:  100 East Main Street / Hord Street

Built:  2004 – 2006

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Brandstetter-Carroll Inc. of Cincinnati, Ohio

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The south front has a projecting curved center section with recessed entrance section on the first and second stories. The roof line is flat.


Old County Courthouse – Grayson 




Location:  300 West Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  H L Lewman of Louisville

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story yellow brick structure. The building sits on a hill. The center section rises to a pediment at the roof line. The building has hexagonal towers at the corners. On the center of the roof is a large square white cupola with white dome. In 1950 and 1964, the west and east wings were added.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky



N – Greenup County

E – Boyd County and Lawrence County

S – Elliott County and Rowan County

W – Rowan County and Lewis County






County Justice Center
















Photos taken 2012 and 2018