Carroll County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Carroll County

Carroll County is named for Charles Carroll, who was the last living signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1737 to 1832.


Surroundiong County Courthouses: 

N – Jefferson County, Indiana and Switzerland County. Indiana

E – Gallatin County

S – Owen County and Henry County

W – Trimble County


Created:  February 9, 1838                    Map of Kentucky highlighting Carroll County

County Seat: 

Carrollton  1838 – present


County Courthouse – Carrollton 


Location:  123 Church Street / Main Street

Built:  1884 – 1885

Style:  Renaissance Revival

Architect:  H P McDonald Brothers of Louisville

Contractor:  W W McCoy


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Carrollton. The building is constructed in three tiers with the entrance extending south with portico supported by two narrow columns and above it, a large three pane window. On the center of the roof is a high square wood cupola with steep green colored roof and clock. In the interior is a spiral staircase. The former courtroom is located on the second story. In 1975 and 1976, two wings were added by architects James A Ross and Howard and Thomas McClory and the contractor was Tucker & Gray Construction Company Inc. On the ground is the old stone jail.


See:  The architect H P McDonald and Brothers of Louisville, Kentucky.


County Hall of Justice – Carrollton 




Location:   802 Clay Street / 8th Street

Built:  1991 – 1992

Style:  Modern

Architect:  CMW Inc. of Lexington ( Chrisman Miller Woodford Inc. )

Contractor:  Morel Construction Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the northeast of the courthouse in the center of Carrollton. , The east front has a central entrance with two columns and recessed entrance, and rising to a large concrete dome. A wide horizontal eave runs along the flat roof line. The building has few windows.. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County District Court of the 15th Judicial District.


See:  The 15th Judicial Circuit includes Carroll County Grant County and Owen County.


History:  The county was created in 1838 and Carrollton was selected as the county seat. Before becoming the county seat, Carrollton was the county seat of Gallatin County and was named Port William. The first court met at the home of Richard Masterson in 1799. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1799 to 1800. The second courthouse was built in 1810. The building was damaged in a storm in 1837.  The first courthouse for Carroll County was built in 1838 to 1839 at a cost of $10,000. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1884 to 1885 at a cost of $16,437. The cost of the 1976 restoration was $570,000. The County Hall of Justice was constructed in 1991 to 1992.




County Courthouse – Carrolton































Old County Jail – Carrollton










County Hall of Justice – Carrollton













Photos taken 2007 and 2018