Butler County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Butler County

Butler County is named for Richard Butler, who was a general during the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  January 18, 1810

County Seat: 

Morgantown  1810 – present


County Courthouse – Morgantown  


Location:  110 Main Street / W G L Smith Street

Built:  1874 – 1875

Style:  Modern Colonial

Architect:  Howard, Nielsen. Lyne, Thomas, Aldred, Henry and O’Brien, Inc.

Contractor:  R E Summers Construction Company Inc. of Bowling Green


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The northwest front has a large portico with four columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. On the roof is a white colored cupola. The building was renovated in 1997 to 1998. The architect was James E Denton and the contractor was Lanham Brothers.


Note:  The first courthouse built in 1811 was modeled after the Hardin County Courthouse. The courthouse severed until it was destroyed by fire in 1872. The second courthouse built by James A Shirley in 1873. It served until 1975 when the third and present courthouse was constructed.



N – Ohio County and Grayson County

E – Edmonson County and Warren County

S – Logan County 

W – Muhlenberg County and Ohio County


























Photos taken 2014