Boyd County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Boyd County

Boyd County is named for Linn Boyd, who was a United States Congressman and Lieutenant Governor of Kentucky.


Created:  February 16, 1860

County Seat: 

Catlettsburg  1860 – present


County Courthouse – Catlettsburg 


Location:  2800 Louisa Street / 28th Street

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story Indiana limestone structure. The east front has a large porch supported by four large columns rising to a header at the roof line. The north and south sections project from the main building. Along the flat roof line is a balustrade. On the south side of the building is an addition constructed in 1930 to 1931. The architect was  Henry Norton Foster and the contractor was W I Kalter.


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


County Justice Center – Catlettsburg 




Location:  2805 Louisa Street / 28th Street

Built:  2008 – 2010

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Louis & Henry Architecture

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The building is named as the C David Hagerman Justice Center.The northwest section has a curved section with glass walls. On the south side of the curved section are two towers. Further south is a section with vertical dividers and recessed glass walls. There is further tower at the south end and a walkway across the street to the courthouse.



N – Greenup County and Lawrence County, Ohio

E – Wayne County, West Virginia

S – Lawrence County

W – Carter County and Greenup County


























Photos taken 2012