Adair County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Adair County

Adair County is named for John Adair, who was the Governor of Kentucky from 1820 to 1824.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Green CountyTaylor County and Casey County

E – Russell County

S – Cumberland County

W – Metcalfe County


Created:  December 11, 1801                Map of Kentucky highlighting Adair County

County Seat: 

Columbia  1802 – present


County Courthouse – Columbia


Location:  500 Public Square / Jamestown Street

Built:  1885 – 1887

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  H P McDonald Brothers of Louisville

Contractor:  William H Hudson and Stone Company of Columbia


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a three story white colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Columbia. The white colored stone was quarried at Sparksville in the County. The southeast portico has two thin columns rising to a balcony at the second story. In the columns that support the portico are carved the face of the builder William H Hudson of  Collumbia. The building rises to the third story with the side sections rising only to the second story. The southwest and northeast wings are one story with white colored balustrades. On the center of the roof, is a large square stone cupola with glass windows and a clock at the roof level. The roof is hipped. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building was renovated in 1975. The architect was Clotfelter & Associates of Lexington and the contractor was McLean Construction Company od Columbia. The consulting engineer was Adams, Frazier & Anderson of Lexingtonn.


See:  The architect H P McDonald and Brothers of Louisville, Kentucky.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Adair County Courthouse


County Judicial Center – Columbia




Location:  201 Campbellsville Street / Merchant Street

Built:  2008 – 2010

Style:  Modern

Architect:  DLZ of Frankfort

Contractor:  Branscum Construction Company of Russell Springs


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Columbia to the north of the courthouse. The southeast front has a circular section with six columns rising to a wide header and with a central entrance on the first story. There are hipped roofs on the south and east sections of the building. 


History:  The county was created in 1802 and Columbia was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built on the Courthouse Square in 1806. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1885 to 1887. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2008 to 2110 at a cost of $12,470,000.




County Courthouse – Columbia



















County Judicial Center – Columbia



















Photos taken 2007 and 2014