Wyandotte County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Wyandotte County

Wyandotte County is named for the Native American tribe Wyandotte who resided in the region.


Created:  August 25, 1855

County Seat:

Kansas City  1859 – present


County Courthouse – Kansas City 


Location:  700 North 7th Street / Barnett Avenue

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Wight & Wight of Kansas City, Missouri

Contractor:  Gofrey Swensen Construction Company, of Kansas City, Missouri


Description:  The building faces east and is a four story gray limestone structure. The building is constructed of dressed Indiana limestone laid in running bond. The east front has a large porch supported by six large Doric columns rising to a wide header. The entrance is recessed. A cornice runs along the flat roof line.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1882 by E T Carr. The building was demolished. The present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $912,019.50.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Wyandotte County Courthouse


County Administration – Kansas City 




Location:  866 North 7th Street / Barnett Avenue

Built:  1958 – 1959

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Radotinsky, Meyn and Deardoff

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a four story red brick, glass and concrete structure.



N – Leavenworth County and Platte County, Missouri

E – Platte County, Missouri, Clay County, Missouri and Jackson County, Missouri 

S – Johnson County

W – Leavenworth County

















Photos taken 2009