Wichita County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Wichita County

Wichita County is named after the confederacy of Caddoan Indians.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wallace County and Logan County

E – Scott County

S – Kearney County

W – Greeley County


Created:  March 20, 1873                       Map of Kansas highlighting Wichita County

County Seat:

Leoti  1886 – present


County Courthouse – Leoti 


Location:  206 South 4th Street / L Street

Built:  1916 – 1917

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  William Earl Hulse & Company of Hutchison

Contractor:  William Foley


Description: The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Leoti. The building has four large portico on the east side supported by four large columns. There are two large columns on either side of the entrance. The center section projects from the main building. The roof is hipped.


Note: This courthouse is simpler to the courthouse in Wallace County as the architect and contractor were the same for both courthouses. Also, the courthouse in Pawnee County was designed and constructed by them.


Note: The architect, William Earl Hulse & Company of Hutchison, designed courthouses in Barton County, Brown County, Kiowa County, Osage County, Pawnee County, Reno County and Wallace County.


History:  The courthouse is the first and only courthouse erected in the county.




County Courthouse – Leoti




Photos taken 2007