Smith County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Smith County

Smith County is named for J Nelson Smith, who was part of the 2nd Colorado Cavalry and who was killed at the Battle of Little Blue during the American Civil War.


Created:  February 26, 1867

County Seat:

Smith Center  1872 – present


County Courthouse – Smith Center 


Location:  218 South Grant Street / West Court Street

Built:  1918 – 1920

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Thomas W Williamson & Company of Topeka

Contractor:  M C Brady


Description: The building faces west and is a three story square shaped limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds and has columns rising from the second story to the third story. There is a small pediment over the entrance. The cornice protrudes from the building and there is a balustrade along the roof with clock in the center section. The first story has horizontal bands of limestone. The roof line is flat.


See:  The architect, Thomas W Williamson & Company of Topeka, also designed courthouses in Cheyenee County, Jackson County and Sheridan County.



N – Franklin County, Nebraska and Webster County, Nebraska

E – Jewell County

S – Osborne County

W – Phillips County


























Photos taken 2006 and 2019\0