Seward County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Seward County

Seward County is named for William H Seward ( 1801-1872 ), senator from New York and leader of the anti-slavery wing of the Whig Party, and who served as Secretary of State arranging the purchase of Alaska.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Haskell County

E – Meade County

S – Beaver County, Oklahoma and Texas County, Oklahoma

W – Stevens County


Created:  March 20, 1873                       Map of Kansas highlighting Seward County

County Seat:

Liberal  1886 – present


County Courthouse – Liberal  


Location:  415 North Washington Avenue / East 5th Street

Built:  1956 – 1957

Style:  Modern

Architect:  W I Fisher and Company

Contractor:  Irvinbilt Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story buff colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Liberal. The building has an extended roof over the edge of the existing building. On the west front is a large wall with pond. The horizontal windows run below the roof line. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court of the 26th Judicial District. 


See:  The 26th Judicial District includes Grant County, Haskell CountyMorton County, Stanton County and Stevens County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Liberal was selected as the county seat in 1886 when the county was organized. The county uses rented premises. The first courthouse was a two story structure designed by J M Smith and built in Liberal in 1892. The courthouse was demolished when the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1956 to 1957.




County Courthouse – Liberal







Photos taken 2007