Rush County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Rush County

Rush County is named for Alexander Rush, Captain of company H, second colored infantry, who was killed April 3, 1864 at Jenkins Ferry, Arkansas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Ellis County

E – Barton County

S – Pawnee County

W – Ness County


Created:  February 26, 1867                  Map of Kansas highlighting Rush County

County Seat:

Walnut City  1874 – 1877

La Crosse    1877 – 1878

Walnut City  1878 – 1882

La Crosse    1882 – present


County Courthouse – La Crosse  


Location:  715 Elm Street / West 12th Street

Built:  1888 – 1889

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:   L L Levering

Contractor:  William T Heaps


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of La Crosse. The southeast tower is round with a conical roof topped by an onion-shaped finial.  The northeast tower is square and when built had a steeply pitched hip roof.  Arched openings pierce the upper part of the square tower. The main entrance, reached by a set of wide masonry steps, is set within a stone arch that is repeated twice above in the projecting entrance bay.  The building has a rough-hewn native limestone base.


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $17,950. The project was hindered by considerable bickering between the contractor, the commissioners, and George Shaffer, who was the superintendent of construction.  Allegedly the plans were poorly drawn and the commissioners insisted on making numerous changes.  Despite the delays, the building was finished by the spring of 1889.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Rush County Courthouse



History:  Due to a long county seat war with Walnut City, no courthouse was erected. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1888 to 1889.







County Courthouse – La Crosse
















Photos taken 2007 and 2010