Riley County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Riley County

Riley County was named for Bennet Riley, who was a general in the Mexican-American War.


Created:  August 25, 1855

County Seat:

Manhattan  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Manhattan 


Location:  100 Courthouse Plaza / Poyntz Avenue

Built:  1905 – 1907

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  J C Holland and Company of Topeka and Frank C Squires

Contractor: Joseph  Benjamin  Betts Jr. of Topeka and Clarence Johnson of Manhattan


Description: The building faces south and is a four story stone structure. The rectangular building is made of locally quarried rock-faced limestone. The south front has a large stone arch on the first story with recessed entrance. Above the entrance rises a high square stone clock tower with parapets and steep roof. The building has a hipped roof.


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $50,000. The contractor, J B Betts Jr. of Topeka, had the low bid of $41,874. He also constructed the courthouse in Leavenworth County and Marion County.


See:  The architect, J C Holland and Company of Topeka, designed courthouses in Clay County, Geary County and Mitchell County; and in Nebraska in Jefferson County. Holland and Son designed courthouses in Ness County and Rice County. With Frank C Squires, he designed courthouses in Thomas County. With Charles W Squires, he designed courthouses in Marion County and Osborne County.


See:  The architect, Frank C Squires of Topeka, designed courthouses in Rooks County and Thomas County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Riley County Courthouse


County Administration – Manhattan 




Location:  110 Courthouse Plaza / Poyntz Avenue

Built:  1983 – 1984

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Landmark Company and Villas, Cannon and Associates

Contractor: Abbott Construction Inc.


Description: The building faces west and is a three story rough stone, glass and concrete structure. The west front has a high portico with three high arches and a recessed glass entrance section. The building is located on the north side of the courthouse. The building was the old Music Village building and is now named as the Riley County Office Building.



N – Washington County and Marshall County

E – Pottawatomie County and Wabaunsee County

S – Wabaunsee County and Geary County

W – Geary County and Clay County
































Photos taken 2009