Rawlins County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Rawlins County

Rawlins County is named for John A Rawlins ( 1831-1869 ), who was General Ulysses S Grant’s chief of staff during the Civil War.


Created:  March 20, 1873

County Seat:

Atwood  1881 – present


County Courthouse – Atwood  


Location:  607 Main Street / North 6th Street

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Eisenfraut-Colby-Pottinger Company

Contractor:  Winters & Short


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story dark red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The building has a central square red colored brick tower rising above the south entrance. The south front has steps up to a stone trimmed entrance. There is stone trim at the building corners and at the base.


Note:  The first courthouse was a tw0 story structure built in 1881.



N – Dundy County, Nebraska, Hitchcock County, Nebraska and  Red Willow County, Nebraska

E – Decatur County

S – Thomas County

W – Cheyenne County





County Courthouse










Photos taken 2007