Phillips County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Phillips County

Phillips County is named for William Phillips, who was a free-state martyr, murdered September 1, 1856, in Leavenworth.


Created:  February 26, 1867

County Seat:

Phillipsburg  1872 – present


County Courthouse – Phillipsburg  


Location:  301 State Street / 3rd Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  R A Curtis ( Curtis Engineering Company )

Contractor:  Cuthbert & Sons


Description: The building faces west and is a three story white colored stone structure. On each of the four sides of the building are two large columns rising from the second to third story with a clock above. The main entrance is on the west side. The roof line is flat.


See:  The contractor, Cuthbert & Sons, constructed courthouses in Jackson County, Ness County, Rice County and Rooks County.



N – Harlan County, Nebraska and Furnas County, Nebraska

E – Smith County

S – Rooks County and Graham County

W – Norton County

















Photos taken 2007 and 2010