Ness County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Ness County

Ness County is named for Corporal Noah Van Buren Ness, of company G, seventh Kansas cavalry, who died August 22, 1864 at Abbeyville, Mississippi.


Created:  February 26, 1867

County Seat:

Ness City  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Ness City 


Location:  100 South Kansas Avenue / Main Street

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  J C Holland & Son of Topeka

Contractor:  Cuthbert & Sons


Description: The building faces south and is a two story stone structure. The building is rectangular and has recessed entrances on the south and east sides. On the roof above the entrances are parapets with crests. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was located in an old bank building in 1903, which building was designed by Holland & Hopkins and constructed by William Ruff in 1890.


See:  The architect, J C Holland and Company of Topeka, designed courthouses in Clay County, Geary County and Mitchell County; and in Nebraska in Jefferson County. Holland and Son designed courthouses in Rice County. With Frank C Squires, he designed courthouses in Riley County and Thomas County. With Charles W Squires, he designed the courthouses in Marion County and Osborne County.


See:  The contractor, Cuthbert & Sons, constructed courthouses in Jackson County, Phillips County, Rice County and Rooks County.



North  – Gove County and Trego County

East    – Rush County and Pawnee House

South – Hogeman County

West   – Lane County 








Photos taken 2010