Meade County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Meade County

Meade County is named for General George G Meade ( 1815-1872 ), Union army general and the victor at Gettysburg during the Civil War.


Created:  March 20, 1873

County Seat:

Meade  1885 – present


County Courthouse – Meade  


Location:  200 North Fowler Street / Belle Meade Street

Built:  1928

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Fred S Hopper

Contractor:  Louis Riggs


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story light patterned red colored brick structure. The building faces west and was completed in 1928. On the west front are six large white colored columns rising from the first floor to the second story. On the third story is white stone above the columns. The windows on the third floor are small.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Willis A Ritchie and constructed in 1888. The building was demolished.. The cornerstone is located on the courthouse grounds.



N – Gray County and Ford County

E – Clark County

S – Beaver County, Oklahoma

W – Seward County and Haskell County




















Photos taken 2007 and 2010