Leavenworth County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Leavenworth County

Leavenworth County is named for Henry H Leavenworth, who was a general in the United States Army and after who Fort Leavenworth was named.


Created:  August 25, 1855

County Seat:

Kickapoo        1855 – 1856

Delaware        1856

Leavenworth  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Leavenworth


Location:  300 Walnut Street / South 3rd Street

Built:  1911 – 1913

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  William P Feth of Topeka

Contractor:  J B Betts Jr. of Topeka


Description: The building faces south and is a three story gray limestone structure. The building is rectangular in shape and the walls are limestone masonry units laid in running bond with the rusticated limestone foundation and limestone quoins. The south front has a large portico supported by six columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The recessed entrance has rounded stone trim. A horizontal projecting cornice runs below the roof line. There is an interior rotunda with skylight. The building was remodeled in 1951.


Note:  The contractor, J B Betts Jr. of Topeka, had the low bid of $110,916. He also constructed the courthouse in Marion County and Riley County.


Note:  The courthouse designed by Carr & Schultz constructed by Andersopn & Liddle in in 1873, was destroyed by a fire on March 22, 1911 due to faulty wiring. The fire gutted the building, leaving behind only the exterior brick walls.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Leavenworth County Courthouse


County Judicial Center – Leavenworth




Location:  601 South 3rd Street / Walnut Street

Built:  1995 – 1996

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Shaughnessy Fickel & Scott Architects Inc.

Contractor:  J E Dunn Construction Company.


Description: The building faces west and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The west front has a central entrance with projecting concrete porch and glass panels behind. On the third story, the windows extend horizontally. The other windows are small and square. The roof line is flat.



N – Atchison County and Platte County, Missouri

E – Platte County, Missouri and Wyandotte County

S – Johnson County and Douglas County

W – Douglas County and Jefferson County



































Photos taken 2009