Lane County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Lane County

Lane County is named for James Henry Lane ( 1814-1866 ), a leader of the Free State forces in territorial Kansas and one of the first United States senators from Kansas.


Created:  March 20, 1873

County Seat:

Dighton  1886 – present


County Courthouse – Dighton  


Location:  144 South Lane Street / Pearl Street

Built:  1930 – 1931

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Mann & Company of Hutchinson

Contractor:  H W Underhill


Description: The building faces west and is a four story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building has projecting wings on the southwest and northwest. The main entrances on the west, is framed to the roof line in white colored stone and has three long windows above the entrance.


See:  The architect,  Mann & Company of Hutchinson, designed courthouses in Ellis County, Ellsworth County, Graham County, Pratt CountyRepublic County, Scott County, Stafford County and Stevens County.



N – Gove County 

E – Ness County

S – Finney County

W – Scott County














Photos taken 2007